On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781771334709_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $30.99
edition:Audiobook
also available: eBook
category: Fiction
published: Feb 2018
ISBN:9781771334709

The Nearly Girl

by Lisa de Nikolits, narrator Sara Garcia

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
literary
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $30.99
edition:Audiobook
also available: eBook
category: Fiction
published: Feb 2018
ISBN:9781771334709
Description

Fans of A Prayer for Owen Meany and One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest will love this clever, fast-paced and enjoyable thriller. Like a modern-day Joan of Arc, Amelia Fisher attempts to carve out a ‘normal life’, showing us how mythic the idea of ‘normal’ really is. With a poetic genius for a father, an obsessed body builder for a mother, and an enchantingly eccentric group seeking the help of an unorthodox therapist, what could possibly go wrong? A chance discovery propels Amelia and fellow therapy attendee, Mike, with whom she is in love, into a life-threatening situation instigated by the crazed doctor's own dark secret but Amelia's psychosis saves the day. Told with warmth, humor and populated with vividly original characters, this sprint-paced novel has it all, from restraining orders to sex in office bathrooms, and a nail-biting ending. A novel about an unusual family, expected social norms and the twists and turns of getting it all slightly wrong, the consequences of which prove fatal for some.

 

About the Authors
Lisa de Nikolits is the award-winning, critically-acclaimed author of six novels: The Hungry Mirror, West of Wawa, A Glittering Chaos, The Witchdoctor’s Bones, Between The Cracks She Fell and The Nearly Girl (Inanna Publications). Her short fiction has appeared in Postscripts To Darkness, Volume 6; Maudlin House; Lynn Crosbie’s Hood; The Jellyfish Review; PAC’N HEAT (a Ms. Pac-Man noir collection); Mesdames of Mayhem’s crime anthology Thirteen O’Clock; and the Toronto Sisters In Crime’s anthology, The Whole She-Bang 3. Her poetry has been published in CWS/cf. She lives and works in Toronto.
Author profile page >

Lisa de Nikolits is the award-winning, critically-acclaimed author of six novels: The Hungry Mirror, West of Wawa, A Glittering Chaos, The Witchdoctor’s Bones, Between The Cracks She Fell and The Nearly Girl (Inanna Publications). Her short fiction has appeared in Postscripts To Darkness, Volume 6; Maudlin House; Lynn Crosbie’s Hood; The Jellyfish Review; PAC’N HEAT (a Ms. Pac-Man noir collection); Mesdames of Mayhem’s crime anthology Thirteen O’Clock; and the Toronto Sisters In Crime’s anthology, The Whole She-Bang 3. Her poetry has been published in CWS/cf. She lives and works in Toronto.
Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

Originally from South Africa, Lisa de Nikolits has lived in Canada since 2000. The Nearly Girl is her sixth novel. Previous novels include: The Hungry Mirror (2011 IPPY Awards Gold Medal Winner); West of Wawa (2012 IPPY Silver Medal Winner and a Chatelaine Editor’s Pick); A Glittering Chaos (2014 IPPY Silver Medal Winner); The Witchdoctor’s Bones; and most recently, Between The Cracks She Fell (2016 IPPY Bronze Medal Winner and a Canadian Living magazine “must-read book of 2015”). Her short fiction and poetry has also been published in various anthologies and journals. She lives and writes in Toronto.

 

Editorial Review

The Nearly Girl is completely mesmerizing! Lisa de Nikolits' tale of family dysFUNction is chock full of comedy, drama and page turning suspense. Anyone who has ever felt alienated by the unwritten rules and norms of society will find a kindred spirit in Amelia, the "Nearly Girl" daughter of a female bodybuilder and a tortured poet, who believes that rainy days are just perfect for picnics on the beach and who fears that getting on the right bus will lead her to a dead end. Told with warmth, humor and populated with vividly original characters, The Nearly Girl illustrates the importance of keeping the magic in an increasingly corporate, cookie-cutter world." — Heather Babcock, author of Of Being Underground and Moving

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...