On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780375845895_cover Enlarge Cover View Excerpt
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $9.99
edition:Paperback
also available: Hardcover Hardcover
published: April 2011
ISBN:9780375845895

The Lighter Side of Life and Death

by C.K. Kelly Martin

reviews: 1
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
dating & sex, stepfamilies, love & romance
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $9.99
edition:Paperback
also available: Hardcover Hardcover
published: April 2011
ISBN:9780375845895
Description

Sixteen-year-old Mason Rice is having the night of his life. He's just delivered an incredible performance in the school play, basked in celebratory afterglow vibes at the party of the year, and lost his virginity to one of his best friends—the gorgeous but previously unobtainable Kat Medina. His dreams are coming true and the future looks golden. Unfortunately, Kat sees things very differently. Crossing the friendship line was a big mistake and all she wants is to forget it and move on, even if means forgetting Mason altogether. What's a guy to do? Well, if you're Mason, you hang your hopes on the first attractive 23-year-old you cross paths with. At first Mason wonders if he's imagining the chemistry . . . until Colette invites him over to her apartment.  Suddenly Mason's living in a whole new world. Fans of John Green and Sarah Dessen will savor C. K. Kelly Martin's sexy, smart, soulful story of one confused boy, two girls, and all the complications that ensue in this feel good celebration of friendship, first love, first lust, and second chances.

About the Author
C.K. Kelly Martin is the author of such acclaimed novels as I Know It's Over, One Lonely Degree, The Lighter Side of Death, My Beating Teenage Heart, Yesterday, Tomorrow, The Sweetest Thing You Can Sing, and Delicate. A graduate of the Film Studies program at York University, Martin currently resides in Oakville, Ontario.
Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

C. K. KELLY MARTIN lives in the greater Toronto area with her husband. You can visit her Web site and blog at CKKellyMartin.com.

Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
14 to 100
Grade:
9 to 17
Editorial Review

Starred Review, Booklist, March 15, 2010: "A more genuine representation of teen life would be hard to find."

From the Hardcover edition.

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.
Canadian Children's  Book Centre
Librarian review

The Lighter Side of Life and Death

Mason Rice has just delivered an incredible performance in the school play, has been to the party of the year and has become intimate with his best friend, Kat Medina. Life couldn’t be better! But Kat doesn’t feel the same way and wishes they were still just friends. What’s a guy to do? Perhaps fall in love with the first 23-year-old he meets?

Source: The Canadian Children’s Book Centre. Best Books for Kids & Teens. 2011.

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...