Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Biography & Autobiography Literary

The Life Of Margaret Laurence

by (author) James King

Knopf Canada
Initial publish date
Aug 1998
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Aug 1998
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


The magnificent and long-awaited biography of the beloved writer who gave us the Manawaka novels, including The Diviners and The Stone Angel.

About the author

James King is the author of four previous novels: Faking (1999), Blue Moon (2000), Transformations (2003), and Pure Inventions (2006). He is also the author of eight works of biography, the subjects of which include William Blake, Margaret Laurence, Jack McClelland, and Farley Mowat. His biography of Herbert Read, The Last Modern, was nominated for the Governor General's Literary Award. James King lives in Hamilton, Ontario, and teaches at McMaster University in the Department of English.

James King's profile page

Editorial Reviews

"A moving portrait of a troubled, passionate individual." -The Toronto Star
"King has created a Laurence who is reminiscent of her own fictional heroes--strong, vulnerable and full of life-affirming spirit." -The Calgary Herald
"A fascinating story, emotional and perplexing, and one sharply etched by both tragedy and triumph." -The London Free Press
"King's stirring, compassionate biography will inspire many readers to return to the unforgettable characters and moments Margaret Laurence left behind in her fiction." -The Hamilton Spectator
"King's is a full and fascinating book: as a narrative; as a rich view of the landscape of Canadian writing and publishing; and as an account of the complex forces that shaped Laurence's remarkable body of fiction and its tormented heroines." Quill & Quire

Other titles by James King

Related lists

Related blog posts