On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9781626361720_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $42.95
category: Fiction
published: Oct 2013
ISBN:9781626361720

Sunshine Sketches of a Little Town

by Seth & Stephen Leacock

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
humorous, small town & rural, historical
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $42.95
category: Fiction
published: Oct 2013
ISBN:9781626361720
Description

Sunshine Sketches of a Little Town is a sequence of stories by the celebrated humorist Stephen Leacock. As funny, relevant, and insightful today as when it was first published more than a century ago, Sunshine Sketches of a Little Town presents a vibrant and unforgettable portrait of the delightful citizens of the fictional small town of Mariposa, Ontario. Now in this sumptuously designed gift edition, internationally acclaimed cartoonist Seth brings his unique vision and artistry to bear on the inhabitants of this little town to spectacular effect. With more than forty full- and double-page color illustrations throughout, this special edition is an extraordinarily beautiful and loving tribute to Mariposa and its residents, one that is sure to enchant long-time fans of Leacock’s book as well as captivate a new generation of readers.

For fans of Leacock and Seth, collectors of Canadiana, and readers of Lemony Snicket and Chester Brown’s Louis Riel, this lavishly illustrated gift edition, Leacock’s beloved classic presented anew under the artistic direction of Seth, is a literary event and a must-have.

About the Authors

Seth

Author profile page >

Stephen Leacock

Award-winning Canadian humorist and writer Stephen Leacock (1869-1944) was the author of more than 50 literary works, and between 1915 and 1925 was the most popular humorist in the English-speaking world. Leacock’s fictional works include classics like Sunshine Sketches of a Little Town, Arcadian Adventures with the Idle Rich, and Literary Lapses. In addition to his humor writings, Leacock was an accomplished political theorist, publishing such works as Elements of Political Science and My Discovery of the West: A Discussion of East and West in Canada, for which he won the Governor General's Award for writing in 1937. Leacock’s life continues to be commemorated through the awarding of the Leacock Medal for Humour and with an annual literary festival in his hometown of Orillia, Ontario.

Author profile page >

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Other Titles by Seth

Classic Cocktails

Classic Cocktails

A Modern Shake
by Mark Kingwell
designed by Seth
edition:Hardcover
More Info
Christmas Days

Christmas Days

From Fake Snow To Santalands, The Things That Make Christmas Christmas
by Derek McCormack
illustrated by Seth
edition:Paperback
also available: eBook
More Info
Christmas Days /hc

Christmas Days /hc

From Fake Snow to Santalands, The Things That Make Christmas Christmas
by Derek McCormack
illustrated by Seth
edition:Hardcover
More Info

Other Titles by Stephen Leacock

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...