Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction World War I

Seven Days in May

by (author) Kim Izzo

Publisher
HarperCollins
Initial publish date
Sep 2018
Category
World War I, Contemporary Women, Family Life
  • eBook

    ISBN
    9781443422512
    Publish Date
    Apr 2017
    List Price
    $11.99
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781443422499
    Publish Date
    Apr 2017
    List Price
    $22.99
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781443453493
    Publish Date
    May 2017
    List Price
    $22.99
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781443422505
    Publish Date
    Apr 2018
    List Price
    $16.99
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781443456944
    Publish Date
    Sep 2018
    List Price
    $15.99 USD

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Description

“In this, her third novel, Kim Izzo renders the last voyage of the Lusitania in such terrifyingly accurate detail that we readers cannot help but feel we too are aboard that doomed ship—and in Winston Churchill’s ultra-secret lair, Room 40—as the ineluctable forces of history converge.”
   — Erik Larson, bestselling author of The Splendid and the Vile

For readers of Kate Williams, Beatriz Williams and Jennifer Robson, a captivating novel of love and resilience during the Great War, inspired by the author’s family history.

As the First World War rages in continental Europe, two New York heiresses, Sydney and Brooke Sinclair, are due to set sail for England. Brooke is engaged to marry impoverished aristocrat Edward Thorpe-Tracey, the future Lord Northbrook, in the wedding of the social calendar. Sydney has other adventures in mind; she is drawn to the burgeoning suffragette movement, which is a constant source of embarrassment to her proper sister. As international tempers flare, the German embassy releases a warning that any ships making the Atlantic crossing are at risk. Undaunted, Sydney and Brooke board the Lusitania for the seven-day voyage with Edward, not knowing that disaster lies ahead.

In London, Isabel Nelson, a young woman grateful to have escaped her blemished reputation in Oxford, has found employment at the British Admiralty in the mysterious Room 40. While she begins as a secretary, it isn’t long before her skills in codes and cyphers are called on, and she learns a devastating truth and the true cost of war.

As the days of the voyage pass, these four lives collide in a struggle for survival as the Lusitania meets its deadly fate. 

About the author

KIM IZZO is the co-author of the internationally bestselling book The Fabulous Girl’s Guide to Decorum and its sequel, The Fabulous Girl’s Guide to Grace Under Pressure. She has made numerous television and radio appearances including Oprah, The Today Show, The O’Reilly Factor and Canada AM. Her advice and opinions have appeared in the pages of The New York Times Sunday Style section, InStyle, InStyle Weddings, Marie Claire, Glamour, Redbook, Cosmopolitan and Vogue (UK), to name only a few. Kim Izzo is currently deputy editor of Zoomer, a lifestyle magazine for men and women over forty. Her byline has also appeared in The Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, Fashion, More, Flare and other publications. She lives in Toronto.

Kim Izzo's profile page

Editorial Reviews

“In this, her third novel, Kim Izzo renders the last voyage of the Lusitania in such terrifyingly accurate detail that we readers cannot help but feel we too are aboard that doomed ship—and in Winston Churchill’s ultra-secret lair, Room 40—as the ineluctable forces of history converge.”

Erik Larson, bestselling author of <em>Dead Wake</em>

“A thrilling and romantic adventure on board one of history’s most fabled doomed ships, in the company of an inspiring heroine you’ll be cheering on every nautical mile.”

Elizabeth Renzetti, author of<em> Based On A True Story</em>

Other titles by Kim Izzo