Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Poetry Canadian

Selected Longer Poems

by (author) James Reaney

Dundurn Press
Initial publish date
Jun 1999
Canadian, Canadian, General
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Jun 1999
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it

Out of print

This edition is not currently available in bookstores. Check your local library or search for used copies at Abebooks.


The narrative poem is a Canadian tradition that connects Crawford and Pratt with Atwood and Ondaatje. Reaney is the link. The key link. Selected Longer Poems completes the popular presentation of James Reaney’s classic Poems and includes the well-known ’The Great Lakes Suite’, ’A Message to Winnipeg’, ’Twelve Letters to a Small Town,’ and ’The Dance of Death at London, Ontario’.

A thoughtful introduction by Germaine Warkentin and illustrations by the poet and by Jack Chambers highlight this delightful companion to A Suit of Nettles and Selected Shorter Poems.

About the author

James Reaney was born on a farm in South Easthope near Stratford, Ontario in 1926. He has won the Governor General's Award three times for his poetry, though he is perhaps better-known as a playwright, especially for his landmark Donnelly trilogy (1974-75). Reaney's theatrical adaptation of Lewis Carroll's Alice Through the Looking-Glass returned to the stage at Stratford in the summer of 1996.

His work includes: The Red Heart, poems, 1949; A Suit of Nettles, poems, 1958; Twelve Letters to a Small Town, poems, 1962; The Killdeer & Other Plays, drama, 1962; Colours in the Dark, drama, 1969; Collected Poems, 1972; Listen to the Wind, drama, 1972; The Donnellys, a trilogy of plays, 1974-75; Baldoon (with C.H. Gervais), 1976; The Boy With an R in His Hand, young adult, 1980; Take the Big Picture, young adult, 1986; Alice Through the Looking-Glass, stage adaptation, 1994. James Reaney died in 2008.

James Reaney's profile page

Other titles by James Reaney