On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
Image: front cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $10.99 USD
edition:eBook
also available: Hardcover Paperback
published: June 2018
ISBN:9781534406032

Learning to Breathe

by Janice Lynn Mather

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
coming of age, pregnancy, sexual abuse
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $10.99 USD
edition:eBook
also available: Hardcover Paperback
published: June 2018
ISBN:9781534406032
Description

“A love letter to girls—bittersweet and full of hope.” —Ibi Zoboi, author of National Book Award Finalist American Street
“This is a stellar debut.” —Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion and Pointe
“A vibrant, essential story of healing, resilience, and finding one’s family.” —Stephanie Kuehn, author of William C. Morris Award winning Charm & Strange
“A raw, beautiful, unforgettable must-read.” —Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Allegedly
“Poetic.” —Angela Johnson, award-winning author of Heaven
“A powerful, poignant story about refusing to let the past dictate who you are or who you will become.” —Kirkus Reviews
“This is a well-written, thought-provoking book that tackles difficult topics…a stirring debut.” —School Library Journal (starred review)

Sixteen-year-old Indy struggles to conceal her pregnancy while searching for a place to belong in this stunning debut novel that’s perfect for fans of Amber Smith and Sara Zarr.

Indira Ferguson has done her best to live by her Grammy’s rules—to study hard in school, be respectful, and to never let a boy take advantage of her. But it hasn’t always been easy, especially while living in her mother’s shadow.

When Indy is sent to live with distant relatives in Nassau, trouble follows her. Now she must hide an unwanted pregnancy from her aunt, who would rather throw Indy out onto the street than see the truth.

Completely broke with only a hand-me-down pregnancy book as a resource, Indy desperately looks for a safe space to call home. After stumbling upon a yoga retreat, she wonders if perhaps she’s found the place. But Indy is about to discover that home is much bigger than just four walls and a roof—it’s about the people she chooses to share it with.

About the Author
Janice Lynn Mather is a Bahamian writer with an MFA from the University of British Columbia. She has been a collector of interesting jobs: journalist, conversationalist, performance poet, and professional finger-wagger. Currently, she lives in Vancouver, British Columbia, where she hunches over her computer, grows vegetables, dabbles at the beach, reads in the sun, grumbles at the rain, and, most of all, writes.
Author profile page >
Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
14 to 99
Grade:
9 to 17
Reading age:
14 to 99
Editorial Reviews

“A raw, beautiful, unforgettable must-read.”

— Tiffany D. Jackson, author of ALLEGEDLY

“If you want to understand #MeToo for a sixteen-year old growing up on what many Americans know mostly as a tourist paradise, read Learning to Breathe. Mather is stunning as she shows us Indira's Bahamas, its landscapes, the search of a girl for herself on her island home. Indira will break your heart with her fierce voice and grit in the face of living in a family so damaged they all but abandon this beautiful girl of their own.”

— Terry Farish, award-winning author of THE GOOD BRAIDER

"Through well-crafted dialogue, fresh characters, and solid pacing, the book's mature themes are handled carefully and with sensitivity. A powerful, poignant story about refusing to let the past dictate who you are or who you will become."

— Kirkus Reviews

“This is a stellar debut.”

— Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of LITTLE & LION and POINTE

* "This is a well-written, thought-provoking book that tackles difficult topics such as unwanted pregnancy, familial relationships, and rape, with nuance... A stirring debut for all YA collections."

— SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL, STARRED REVIEW

“A vibrant, essential story of healing, resilience, and finding one’s family.”

— Stephanie Kuehn, author of William C. Morris Award winning CHARM & STRANGE

“Poetic.”

— Angela Johnson, award-winning author of HEAVEN

“A love letter to girls—bittersweet and full of hope.”

— Ibi Zoboi, author of National Book Award Finalist AMERICAN STREET

*A Junior Library Guild Selection


"There is a realness and great level of depth to Indira’s character, and Mather does a magnificent job of conveying a girl’s muted existence following sexual assault and trauma."

— BCCB

"Much like Ibi Zoboi’s American Street, this challenging read confronts injustice and celebrates strength of character and spirit."

— Booklist

"Mather skillfully balances emotionally wrenching scenes and surprisingly humorous ones; well-drawn supporting characters...enrich this capable debut."

— Publishers Weekly

"Emotionally charged, thought provoking and unforgettable."

— Shelf Awareness

Buy this book at:

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Reading Lists Featuring “Learning to Breathe”

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...