Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Poetry Anthologies (multiple Authors)

Best Canadian Poetry, 2009, The

edited by A.F. Moritz

introduction by Molly Peacock

Tightrope Books
Initial publish date
Oct 2009
Anthologies (multiple authors)
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Oct 2009
    List Price

Add it to your shelf

Where to buy it


From a long list of 100 poemsdrawn from Canadian literary journals and magazines this yearâ??s guest editor,award-winning poet A.F. Moritz has chosen 50 of the best Canadian poemspublished in 2008. With this anthology, readers, often baffled by proliferatingpoems and poets, will be able to tap into the remarkable and vibrant Canadianpoetry scene, checking out the currents â?? and cross currents â?? of poetry in avolume distilled by a round robin of distinguished editorial taste.


About the authors

George Fetherling has been writing and publishing for more than forty-five years. One of his most popular works is Travels by Night: A Memoir, which recreates leading personalities and events in the fabled Canadian cultural renaissance of 1965–75. His most recent books are The Sylvia Hotel Poems and the novel Walt Whitman’s Secret, both published in 2010. Fetherling is also a visual artist.

A.F. Moritz has published more than twenty collections of poetry as well as important works of literary history and numerous translations of Latin American verse. A leading figure in the literary life of Canada, he has been the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship and a major award from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters. Two of his most recent works have reaffirmed his reputation: Night Street Repairs (2004) received the ReLit Award and The Sentinel (2008) won both the Bess Hokin Prize from Poetry magazine and the Griffin Poetry Prize. He teaches at the University of Toronto.

A.F. Moritz's profile page

Molly Peacock is the author of six volumes of poetry, including The Second Blush (McClelland & Stewart, 2009) and Cornucopia: New & Selected Poems (W.W. Norton); a memoir, Paradise, Piece by Piece; and a one-woman show in poems, “The Shimmering Verge” produced by Louise Fagan Productions (London, Ontario). She has been series editor of The Best Canadian Poetry in English since 2007, as well as a contributing editor of the Literary Review of Canada and a faculty mentor at the Spalding MFA Program. Her poetry, published in leading literary journals in North America and the UK, is widely anthologized. Her latest work of nonfiction is The Paper Garden: Mrs. Delany Begins Her Life's Work at 72 (McClelland & Stewart, 2010).

Molly Peacock's profile page

Other titles by A.F. Moritz

Other titles by Molly Peacock