On a book page, this tab will allow you to add a book to one of your lists.
Please login or register to use this feature.
9780385686846_cover Enlarge Cover View Excerpt
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $32
edition:Hardcover
category: Fiction
published: Feb 2017
ISBN:9780385686846
publisher: Doubleday Canada

All Our Wrong Todays

A Novel

by Elan Mastai

reviews: 0
tagged:
add a tag
Please login or register to use this feature.
time travel, literary
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $32
edition:Hardcover
category: Fiction
published: Feb 2017
ISBN:9780385686846
publisher: Doubleday Canada
Description

There's no such thing as the life you're "supposed" to have.

You know the future that people in the 1950s imagined we'd have? Well, it happened. In Tom Barren's 2016, humanity thrives in a techno-utopian paradise of flying cars, moving sidewalks and moon bases, where avocados never go bad and punk rock never existed . . . because it wasn't necessary.
     Except Tom just can't seem to find his place in this dazzling, idealistic world, and that's before his life gets turned upside down. Utterly blindsided by an accident of fate, Tom makes a rash decision that drastically changes not only his own life but the very fabric of the universe itself. In a time-travel mishap, Tom finds himself stranded in our 2016, what we think of as the real world. For Tom, our normal reality seems like a dystopian wasteland.
     But when he discovers wonderfully unexpected versions of his family, his career and--maybe, just maybe--his soulmate, Tom has a decision to make. Does he fix the flow of history, bringing his utopian universe back into existence, or does he try to forge a new life in our messy, unpredictable reality? Tom's search for the answer takes him across countries, continents and timelines in a quest to figure out, finally, who he really is and what his future--our future--is supposed to be.
     All Our Wrong Todays is about the versions of ourselves that we shed and grow into over time. It is a story of friendship and family, of unexpected journeys and alternate paths, and of love in its multitude of forms. Filled with humor and heart, and saturated with insight and intelligence and a mind-bending talent for invention, this novel signals the arrival of a major talent.

Contributor Notes

ELAN MASTAI was born in Vancouver and lives in Toronto with his wife and children. He writes movies. All Our Wrong Todays is his first novel.

Editorial Review

National Bestseller
An Indie Next Pick
Nominated for the 2017 Goodreads Choice Award

"A novel about time travel has no right to be this engaging. A novel this engaging has no right to be this smart. And a novel this smart has no right to be this funny. Or insightful. Or immersive. Basically, this novel has no right to exist." —Jonathan Tropper, New York Times bestselling author of This Is Where I Leave You
"A thrilling tale of time travel and alternate timelines with a refreshingly optimistic view of humanity's future." —Andy Weir, New York Times bestselling author of The Martian
"Everything about Mastai's debut novel is clever, starting with the premise. . . . He deploys his rom-com chops with zippy dialogue and deftly drawn characters, but also manages to keep a bewildering number of narrative balls in the air. . . . Its braininess is balanced by moments of glittering wisdom. . . . [Mastai is] an ambitious and committed talent." —Maclean's
"At its core, All Our Wrong Todays is a profound character study, utterly singular in both approach and execution. . . . Fans of The F-Word, Mastai's award-winning 2013 romantic comedy starring Daniel Radcliffe . . . will recognize Mastai's knack for self-reflection and charming riff on romance, ugly and basic and human as it can be." —National Post
"All Our Wrong Todays is an incredibly creative work. It's as if Mastai time travelled and took copious notes of what a future utopian world would be. The science is as engaging as the romance. Mastai has mastered the art of endearing himself to an audience through both knowledge and entertainment. It's definitely out of this world—or an alternate universe." —Associated Press
"Amazing. . . . Dazzling and complex. . . . [All Our Wrong Todays is] fearlessly funny storytelling." —Washington Post
"Wildly entertaining. . . . A genre-hopping, laugh-out-loud sci-fi love story, All Our Wrong Todays at its heart is a deceptively profound exploration of what makes a good life and why our species seems hell-bent on self-annihilation. Clever and entertaining, it explores the small differences that divide what we are from what we could be and what we want to be." —Toronto Star

"Instantly engaging. . . . [All Our Wrong Todays is] a timeless, if mind-bending, story about the journeys we take, populated by friends, family, lovers and others, that show us who we might be, could be—and maybe never should be—that eventually leads us to who we are. —USA Today

"Mastai creates a fascinating tapestry of interconnected alternate realities. . . . A potent mixture of sincere introspection and a riveting examination of time travel and alternate realities, this highly recommended novel is reminiscent of Jo Walton's My Real Children with the breeziness of Robin Sloan's Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore." Library Journal, starred review
"All Our Wrong Todays belongs in a burgeoning genre of books like Andy Weir's The Martian that wrap self-deprecating dad humor around unabashedly nerdy science. . . . Refreshing." —GQ 
"On top of this brilliant philosophical premise of parallel versions of one's life and the people in it—of what might have been had history unfolded different—Mastai's language is also rife with an infectious humor you won’t be able to stop reading." —Harper's Bazaar
"Both charming and wondrously plotted. . . . Mastai considers not only the workings, but the consequences (and there are many) of time travel, packing so much into the last 100 pages it feels as if there's literal weight pressing on your mind." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Elan Mastai's debut novel is a must for any sci-fi fan, but anyone who appreciates whip-smart prose and intrepid imagination will also get a kick out of this fantastical time-bending tale." —Canadian Living
"If you're a fan of books that leave you gaping open-mouthed like Keanu Reeves at the end of The Matrix when you turn the final page, you're going to love All Our Wrong Todays." —Mashable

"Time travel bends our minds, and in the right hands it can tickle our funny bones. All Our Wrong Todays is a twisty, provocative, creative tale of one person at the center of multiple branching timelines. It's an extremely enjoyable way to get yourself thinking about our world and the ways it could be very different." —Sean Carroll, author of The Big Picture: On the Origins of Life, Meaning, and the Universe Itself

"As a novelist, I hate Elan Mastai for writing a perfect book. As a reader, I couldn't be more grateful." —Ron Currie, author of Everything Matters! and The One-Eyed Man
"Mastai’s utopian worldbuilding is complex and imaginative. . . . An entertaining rom-com of errors, All Our Wrong Todays backflips through paradoxes while exploring provocative questions of grief and the multitudes we contain within ourselves. Ultimately, it's a story about love—and the stupid things we'll do for it." —Bookpage

"Within the pages of this brilliant novel is enough humor, wisdom and joy to last us well into the next millennium. Elan Mastai is this generation's Vonnegut, providing us with the blueprints for building a more loving present, past, and future." —Alexander Weinstein, author of Children of the New World 

"[An] imaginative debut novel. . . . Mastai has fun with all the usual conventions of time travel and its many paradoxes, and the cherry on top is his dialogue, reminiscent of Douglas Adams's The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy." —Publishers Weekly
"[All Our Wrong Todays] earns the case it makes for the messiness, heartbreak and imperfections of our world, and in doing so helped reconnect me to my fellow humans." Chicago Tribune
"The year's definitive dystopian novel." —Toronto Life
"With humor, grace and dizzying skill, Mastai crafts a time-traveling novel that challenges every convention of the trope, and succeeds brilliantly. His droll, unassuming writing style couches a number of razor-sharp critiques about both our own reality and that of his hero, while the endless array of technological gadgets, innovations and possibilities give the story its drive and irresistible exuberance. . . . Heartrending, funny, smart, and stunningly, almost brazenly hopeful." RT Book Reviews, Top Pick

"An endearing comedy about family and friendship." —New York Post
"Witty, thoughtful and entertaining." —Houston Chronicle

"Elan Mastai has conjured up a witty and freewheeling time-traveling romance that packs an emotional wallop. All Our Wrong Todays is a page-turning delight." —Maria Semple, author of Today Will Be Different and Where’d You Go, Bernadette
"Mastai gingerly fuses his debut with heart and humour while questioning notions of happiness, identity, nostalgia and sacrifice." —Winnipeg Free Press
"Screenwriter Mastai fills his debut with vintage-sf-novel-fueled names and explanations to anticipate readers’ every question; they’ll enjoy the ride." —Booklist 
"Mastai's model, openly acknowledged, is Kurt Vonnegut's Cat's Cradle, with its short chapters and snappy punchlines. He has caught the tone very well: a narrative voice at once wise and naïve, indignant and resigned, flip and deeply sad." —The Wall Street Journal
"A clever concept that Mastai executes to perfection. An absolute joy to read." —New York Times bestselling author V.E. Schwab

Buy the e-book:

Reader Reviews

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.

Related Blog Posts

User Activity

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...